IMG 5832 scaled


Tell us a little about yourself:

I’m a 23 year old student who moved from regional Victoria to metropolitan Melbourne to study a bachelor of Sport and Exercise Science. Growing up in the country really fostered my love for being outdoors, when I visit home, I enjoy hiking, snow sports and appreciating the nature that the high country has to offer. I currently work as a front of house supervisor at a café in Glen Iris and am also a trained barista. Once I finish my bachelor’s degree, I am keen to do further study however want to work and travel for a few years before I enter my next degree. My mum is South African, so when I was younger, we would go on a holiday to South Africa every year, and I the opportunity to go on lots of safaris, I have always wanted to go back and do some short-term wildlife conservation work there, because I am crazy about all types of animals! I am eager to start my internship at Virtus, as I have never had much experience in the coaching world, so am super excited to be exposed to this kind of environment! I am looking forward to developing my skills in coaching, exercise programming and strength training over the next 12 weeks.

Why did you choose to spend 12 weeks with the Virtus Family?

After searching and not being able to find a placement opportunity that was closer to home, I made a trip down to Virtus after seeing an advertisement on my university page. The first thing I noticed when walking into the space was the laid back atmosphere and friendliness of the staff (and even members), I felt comfortable as soon as I walked in and got the sense that a place that carried such an environment would be the best place I could learn, grow, and develop my coaching skills. (Seeing that Virtus was a dog friendly gym also made the choice really easy for me! ☺)

What do you want to be when you grow up?

I’ve always known I have wanted to have a career in helping others, since finishing my school-based work experiences, I have wanted to be a physiotherapist, specialising in disability and ABI patients. However, since the end of covid lockdowns I have developed a strong passion for raising awareness around mental health, so working across both fields in a way that could somehow be semi-connected would be super special to me.

What motivates you?

  • Learning new things

  • Seeing others do great things

  • Having a routine

  • Making people smile

What are your strengths as a person and as a coach?

I am a very approachable individual, and not at all intimidating. I always listen super intensively and genuinely care about the way other people are feeling, which I think is an important soft skill to carry as a coach.

What are your biggest stretches as a person and as a coach?

I often doubt myself and my capabilities and am constantly stuck in a mental process of self- criticism in tasks I am faced with because I always tend to aim for ‘perfect’ and not ‘better’. I think that in a coaching setting this can often lead to me not stepping outside of my comfort zone as much, therefore not being an effective coach/ mentor for others.


Book – The Man Who Mistook his Wife for a Hat – Oliver Sacks

Movie – Inside Out and Dirty Dancing

TV show – Parks & Recreation, Friends and Breaking Bad

Hobby – I have many, but my favourite is vacuuming!!

Exercise – Any sideline series leg work with a resistance band

Quote – “I never lose. Either I win or I learn” – Nelson Mandela